The Half-Nertians

Sir Isaac Newton discovered and put into words the three laws of motion. The first of those is the law of inertia. It basically says that an object in motion tends to stay in motion and an object at rest tends to stay at rest. We all know this to be true by experience, and we would say that there are no exceptions to this rule.

I have found something that appears to be an exception, however. It appears that some of my students are what I refer to as “half-nertians”. They only seem to obey half of the law of inertia. For example, while the typical object will remain in motion once it has begun moving, some of my students will not – especially when encountering a challenging or a more labor intensive assignment. Also, I would expect an object at rest to stay at rest, yet, some of my students do not follow this expectation either. When in a calm state while listening to some instructions or the like, they will suddenly begin moving in various ways. They rotate in their seats. Their mouths begin to move. It is truly an astounding phenomenon to observe. These may just be anomalies, and I will keep you posted if I observe any other exceptions to natural law.

The scientist in me is perplexed!

TM

 

Leave a Reply

